Practise What You Preach

A college professor of English sent the following to his students, who were training to become writers:

“Before releasing anything you produce into the world make sure that you carefully smell check it first.”

About Ben Naga

Pilgrim on the lam. Please feel free to explore the links to learn more. I trust you will find some things there will have been worth the effort. See you there.

Posted on July 24, 2017, in Not A Poem At All and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. 🤣🙃😆😅 Very good advice!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes. A few days ago I caught myself just in time before I sent my wife an e-mail conveying heaving thoughts rather than the intended healing ones. 😳 This would have been particularly unfortunate, since nausea is one of the side effects of her medication.

      Of course there is a big difference between the odd typo and a complete misspelling. Some years back one of my staff handed in a sick note that explained she had been off with “dire rear”. Classic! And much easier to spell than the usual version too. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    • If you found that funny then you’ll probably enjoy this TRUE story I’ll recopy from my reply to Betty’s Comment above:

      Of course there is a big difference between the odd typo and a complete misspelling. Some years back one of my staff handed in a sick note that explained she had been off with “dire rear”. Classic! And much easier to spell than the usual version too. 😀

      (OTOH the story about the English professor isn’t true. I just made it up.)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’d be happy if people just edit checked it first. Gosh, there’s a lot of bad grammar and punctuation out there 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t mind the odd mistake as long as the meaning becomes indecipherable and I am often impressed by how well a number of folk for whom English is a second language post here. There, you’ve caught me in one of my less judgemental moments. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, for certain I am forgiving of those for whom English is not their mother tongue. It’s the ‘text speak’ stuff that’s more annoying 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • I horror of automatic robot speak (cashiers and receptionists are terrifically prone), clichés and “in words” but I try to avoid giving in to annoyance as I don’t find it does me any good either physically of spiritually. Which is not to say that I always succeed. (Yet. 🙂 )

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

