On Losing Hope by Jill Talbot

The Machinery - A literary collection.

Illustration by Arushi Gupta Illustration by Arushi Gupta

Forgiveness is giving up all hope of having had a better past.
– Anne Lamott

If Hope were a guest I would lock her in a cellar.

If Hope were a movie I would not eat the popcorn.

If I saw Hope on a sidewalk, half broken, I would keep on driving.

If Hope knew the real me she would run screaming.

If Hope were a digestive biscuit she would be full of animal fat.

If Hope attended your wedding you can be sure you’ll end in divorce.

If Hope were sitting here I would tell her I want her back.

If Hope saw me naked she would say, We’ve got work to do.

If Hope found this poem she would burn it.

If Hope were a bartender everything would be on the house.

If Hope were a fruit she would be an apple.

I lost…

View original post 172 more words

About Ben Naga

Pilgrim on the lam. Please feel free to explore the links to learn more. I trust you will find some things there will have been worth the effort. See you there.

Posted on July 9, 2017, in Poem - Not Written By Me Though, Reposted from elsewhere. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

