The Cuckoo

THE CUCKOO

Alarm bell rings out
Cuckoo in the nest!
Cuckoo in the nest!
Cuckoo in the nest!

Knowing onlookers
(Programmed so to do)
Pity these deaf parents
Puzzled yet obeisant

Watching their progeny
Thrown overboard
By this guzzling
Immigrant

No one though pities
The cuckoo’s offspring
Motherless, abandoned
Left to fend for itself

Still there’s always poetry
As there’re always poets
Who never quite fitted in
Left casting their pallid light

And treating Spell Check
As a servant rather than a god

About Ben Naga

Pilgrim on the lam. Please feel free to explore the links to learn more. I trust you will find some things there will have been worth the effort. See you there.

Posted on June 21, 2017, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. An apt metaphor for many of us, Ben… and I love those last two lines. Nicely written as always, of course. 😁

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love the last two lines XDD
    When I was asked what I want to do in life and I said “I want to be a writer” all my relatives were looking at me as if they were looking at an idiot….then my grandma was like “I asked what you want to do for a living ” and then I realised what the issue was XDDD

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I like to make spelling mistakes in my Poems ….that too the most noticeable ones at times ….just to make sure my relatives read my Poems rather than just saying it was very good for curtsey s sake ☺

    Liked by 2 people

    • From time to time I wonder how far we write for others and how far for ourselves. But then again there are those who tell us that “we” and “those others” are one and the same and that the purpose of our existence on this plane is to recall that. “Tat tvam asi”.

      My mother was a lapsed Catholic my father an agnostic (haven’t been compulsively enlisted during World War Two and seen what he saw) and I was reincarnating from Chinese lives full of Taoism and Buddhism. No surprise then cuckoohood made sense even though it might take a while to make sense.

      (And I still love inventing new words like cuckoohood. 🙂 )

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Yup . Thats wat iam planning to do ☺😊
    Thanks a lot for your help😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

