The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn

THE PIPER AT THE GATES OF DAWN

It’s one step forward
Two steps back – or so it seems
Dreams become nightmares
The darkest hour they say
Occurs just before the dawn

About Ben Naga

Pilgrim on the lam. Please feel free to explore the links to learn more. I trust you will find some things there will have been worth the effort. See you there.

Posted on March 27, 2017, in Tanka and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. This reminds me for some reason of a time when I was young. My brother and I had driven up a remote road out of Dubuque, Colorado, climbing into the Bookcliff mountains. After we had got about as far on the road that we could get, we got out of the car, shouldered our backpacks, and started climbing to the ridge above the valley/canyon that we had been driving in. We finally found a place to pitch our tents and build a campfire for the night near the cliff face that overlooked the valley.

    We went to bed late, exhausted. I slept pretty good, but woke up before dawn. The morning was bitterly cold. It was October in the mountains. The night was really, really dark too. I seemed to be swimming in nightmares that couldn’t quite take form.

    Then, a little later, light began to filter into the sky as dawn came with red fire over the wilderness. I felt like I had been reprieved from a vague fate that had passed by and left me okay to face another day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

