Whirlpool

WHIRLPOOL

I seem to remember
That I have forgotten
Remembering
What I’d forgotten
Remembering
In a dream
Where I’d forgotten
I’d remembered
What I’d forgotten
But it is possible
Of course
That I am imagining this.

Who can tell?

About Ben Naga

Pilgrim on the lam. Please feel free to explore the links to learn more. I trust you will find some things there will have been worth the effort. See you there.

Posted on February 24, 2016, in Poetry, Republished and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I’d have gotten it writ down on a bit of paper so it couldn’t get forgotten again…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is my world you’re talking about. We call it CRS can’t remember $#@%

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha, well of course then you must have read Haruki Murakami?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Decades ago and can’t remember any of it though. I do remember not being very impressed by what I read. If there is any influence here it must be purely unconscious.

      Like

      • What? Oh, we all love him here! My husband, kids … anyhow, I digress. He writes about parallel realities quite a bit, though doesn’t call them that. Always the question, ‘Is it real? Or is it Memorex?’ (To quote an old commercial). 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  4. We put up Ethel’s one woman art show at a gallery in Ephraim, Wisconsin yesterday. As I was hurrying to the car, trying to catch up with my daughter and son-in-law who were already outside, I couldn’t find my keys. Oh well, I thought, I’ll get them later and picked up Ethel’s keys and drove to the gallery. After I got home I started looking . . . and looking . . . “I don’t understand it,” I kept saying. “They have to be at the house. We went for a walk, we came home, and I got ready for the show and Rick and Mary showed up before I could even sit down at the computer.” But, Alas,
    I seem to remember
    That I have forgotten
    Remembering
    What I’d forgotten
    Remembering
    and no keys! No keys! What kind of old doddering fool am I turning into anyway?
    Then, of course, they turned up in a drawer, which is absolutely the last place I would have put them in, in the kitchen. I must have been in there to get a tool for the show.
    Oh well,
    But it is possible
    Of course
    That I am imagining this.

    Who can tell?
    quotes Tom, smiling.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Smiling with you, brother. 🙂

      BTW I’ve developed a new mantra I quite like as it helps me feel better. It goes

      “Well you did that wrong,
      You’re quite right.”

      I haven’t copyrighted it so please feel free.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

