Pacific

As ever deserving a wider audience and so …

Ventures of a love-sick fool and poetic menace.

Tucked in neatly like a dress shirt;

my grief stays put, until I get home from work.

Properly labeled and shelved like hurt in stock,

the mark you’ve left is kept

until the next time I put on some music and get drunk alone.

 

Like a cross concealed by clothing

because your beliefs are nobody’s business but your own,

how long I carry this torch is between myself and God.

Like a habit sheathed in solitude,

my suffering is a private event hosted in stolen moments

between conversation and company,

behind jokes and impulse purchases.

Because how much I drink about you

is between me and my liver until it fails.

 

Like a disability masked by artificial limbs,

every laugh and smile may just be a parlor trick

that’s harder than it looks.

I may walk the rest of my life with a limp,

but I won’t introduce…

View original post 185 more words

About Ben Naga

Pilgrim on the lam. Please feel free to explore the links to learn more. I trust you will find some things there will have been worth the effort. See you there.

Posted on July 25, 2015, in Reposted from elsewhere. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What a great photo to use with the fine poem.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

