Coasters

COASTERS

We should get out more
Or so our friends advise us
But people out there
Can be so disappointing
So we coast the internet

About Ben Naga

Pilgrim on the lam. Please feel free to explore the links to learn more. I trust you will find some things there will have been worth the effort. See you there.

Posted on July 4, 2015, in Poetry, Tanka and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I get along with just about anybody and really don’t find people disappointing. I think distracting and a bit overwhelming would be more my description. But then, solitude is very important to me. I have to swallow “out there” in small bites.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can relate to this, Ben, having always loved solitude, peace, and quiet. Yet I have some very dear life-long friends whom I enjoy visiting with one on one. But social events with a lot of people, where everyone is talking at once, become overwhelming and stressful after about an hour. My idea of us “going out” is heading to an uncrowded beach.

    As for disappointment – that lies mostly in others’ lack of interest in philosophical, spiritual, and poetic sharing. For that I come to the internet. 🙂 Since first landing on a poetry “bulletin board” in 1992 on Prodigy (which predates the WWW) I’ve formed many deep, meaningful, and long lasting friendships and have even met a few of them in person. Can’t imagine now how we ever lived without this thing called the internet!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes if they begin to bug or annoy us we can always go to another site or click the power button.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So true… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

