Slowly Fading

GRADUALLY FADING

Because we forget
We keep notes on everything
Welcome to dotage

About Ben Naga

Pilgrim on the lam. Please feel free to explore the links to learn more. I trust you will find some things there will have been worth the effort. See you there.

Posted on December 27, 2014, in Senryu and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. I don’t mind dotage. I also like this poem.

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on Dawn of Divine Rays and commented:
    It’s true, Ben! We tend to forget easily nowadays when we’re focusing on our Now. Wishing you and your family, a beautiful weekend. Namaste

    Like

  3. I forget before I have a chance to write it down except when I am actually writing. 🙂 Short term memory loss is part of my world.

    Like

    • I seem to remember a recent TED talk you posted about memory training. Perhaps you could revisit it? PERHAPS YOU SHOULD WRITE THIS DOWN IMMEDIATELY BEFORE YOU FORGET. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • You do make me laugh and smile. I am afraid to say the short term memory is beyond shot. I am not sure it can be retrieved through any means. The Memory Clinic said it was a done deal. Just have to accept those moments. I do play Jeopardy to keep my mind tuned up on retrieval of memory & trivia. It is a great way to exercise the mind. 🙂

        Like

      • THE LIBRARIAN

        I place a call upstairs
        To the library and archives
        Where the old retainer’s stationed
        Twenty-four seven (long hours, I admit
        But they’re pretty simple tasks)

        I’d like to access some word
        Some book, some film, some name
        Some person’s face or history
        “Please,” I say, ever so politely
        I always say “Please”

        And “Thank you very much” as well
        Hoping of course (as the brightest
        Among you will have guessed)
        That this carrot approach will
        In time improve his performance

        The stick approach is
        In my humble opinion
        Morally repugnant
        (And in practice
        Counterproductive anyway)

        The doddering voice
        Remains silent
        While in the silence
        In the distance
        I can discern

        Those doddery footsteps
        Receding among the stacks
        Will he return, I wonder
        Sometimes he’s gone for hours
        For days even

        Perhaps it’s time for superannuation
        But he was always so loyal
        And reliable in a crisis
        Besides if I were to retire him
        I’d get to wondering who’d be next

        Like

  4. Writing notes is fine as long as you can remember where you put them. I need some kind of central bulletin board where I can pin them all. Or I suppose I can just forget about them.

    Like

  5. Sigh. I have some fantastic poems I’ve written just before going to sleep. I’ll remember in the morning. But in the morning the poem left with the sandman. You are so insightful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

