Responsibilities

RESPONSIBILITIES

You should … er … Do this
You should … er … Not do that
Thus you should-er the burden
Responsibilities … A heavy weight

About Ben Naga

Pilgrim on the lam. Please feel free to explore the links to learn more. I trust you will find some things there will have been worth the effort. See you there.

Posted on December 5, 2014, in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Personal Responsibility is as light as a feather. .. or it should be if we don’t carry another’s burdens.. But far too many of us interfere and poke our noses into others business making it our own.. then the load gets a heavy weight .. 🙂

    Wishing you a peaceful weekend as I catch up on WP again..

    Like

  2. Unless, of course, you are weightless with the ability to conjure weightlessness on even heavy burdens. Unfortunately, I have never had that gift.

    Like

  3. I agree with Sue. We should tend to our own shoulds.

    Like

  4. Should is a very demanding word. it causes a great deal of discomfort if you live under its command. You do what you need to do and make an active decision to do so. But should seems to be more a command than a responsible person carrying out their preferred activities. It’s too heavy. 🙂

    Like

  5. I learned early on to beware those who told me to do or not do this or that “for my own good,” because they just wanted me to be their idea of me, rather than who I really was. I still pay them no mind.

    Like

  6. Cleverly written – all those “shoulds” we’re pressured into “shouldering”…. A heavy weight! I must agree with what others have said in comments above. Sometimes we need to “cut the cords” altogether and not look back. (Alas, that’s hard to do!!)

    Like

    • I often find it of use to replace “should” with “could”. A simple way of recovering my power. I can then view the situation and consider it from within an “if … then … framework where I have one or more choices. I am once more at the wheel if my own ship. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

