Distraction

DISTRACTION

You want distraction?
Yes, we can do distraction
We’ve been practising
And look where it’s taken us
Time for a rethink, perhaps

About Ben Naga

Pilgrim on the lam. Please feel free to explore the links to learn more. I trust you will find some things there will have been worth the effort. See you there.

Posted on November 1, 2014, in Poetry, Tanka and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. Distraction…Don’t we all need life to be more than what we do as part of our schedule?

    Like

    • That is the question I an raising. I have been contemplating the matter recently and have yet to reach a satisfactory conclusion. Perhaps involved in it is a clearer definition of “distraction”, which leads into some pretty broad and deep areas. You say “need”. I have long held that I will not accept a “need” unless if is followed by an “in order to …” For example “I need a piece of chocolate … in order to …” That always clarifies me the difference between “I need” and “I want”.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I want life to develop into a mix, work & play. Sometimes they will cross but I feel as I am beginning to learn I “need” and “want” to separate them. As to need chocolate don’t you usually want the chocolate first?

        Like

      • As you will perhaps remember I believe in a balance between discipline and joyful relaxation. I have found exploring the ins and outs of “need” and “want” to be quite illuminating. 🙂

        Like

  2. I got distracted by your comment. Want and need could some times be the same. But I see what you’re sayin we are often distracted by our wants that we over look our needs.

    Like

  3. Guess it’s all about priorities, and blocking out the rest. (If that’s possible nowadays, with all the intrusive media, electronics, gadgets, etc.) I like your comment above – (the word “chocolate” caught my eye 🙂 ) . I don’t LIKE computers and all the internet distractions, but I NEED one in order to access WP and exchange poetry (a top priority!) Without a computer I never would have met so many wonderful poets like yourself through the years.

    Like

  4. The best way to find out what you really need is by being poor. I’ve been there and done that in the past and there is really very little that we actually must have,

    Like

  5. I am afraid I do not need to be distracted because I have always been distracted, Ben, looking around corners, reading Ben Naga poems, trying to understand if I’ve seen that face or heard that song or listened to those words before, living, and then rethinking living, until I know that I know little even though I have spent a lifetime trying to know a lot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

