Dragon Heart

DRAGON HEART

So still she lies, as if some shell abandoned, blear-eyed from sleep
Shipwrecked, abandoned to some soggy dotage caked in mire
Be not deceived, imagining vacuum where once was fire
Thoughts and feelings spark yet, drift dreamily, aimless, ancient, deep

Take heed, both wise and foolish souls; fair warning: t’is best to creep
Past lightly, with harnessed breath; waken not the dragon’s ire
No less than fearsome monster, prone to bouts of fey desire
Exceeding duties as guardian, this dragon now feeds on sheep

Protection for that heart of mine once long ago rudely spoiled
That dragon, turned to basilisk, has festered and gone awry
Too far too many empty nights left red-eyed the dragonfly
Wound itself tighter and tighter till inextricably coiled

A dusty heirloom, tucked away, out of sight, a feathered wing
This fragile heart, free from defence, defiant, still dares to sing

About Ben Naga

Pilgrim on the lam. Please feel free to explore the links to learn more. I trust you will find some things there will have been worth the effort. See you there.

Posted on October 8, 2014, in Sonnet and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Brilliant.. Dragon energy has been rearing its head a lot for me this past couple of weeks… And here he is again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! This is really epic and impressive. You shown a different side of you. Love it. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I first started it many months ago, but it has lain untouched until the other day, You talk about a different side of me. Are you referring to the style or the content?

      On an unrelated note you might find this video about NDEs of interest? A pity it is packaged as an ad for a dating site 😦 I suggest you try to ignore that (or not, of course 😉 ) and focus on the people’s descriptions of their experiences.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You didn’t send the link. Scratching my head. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • 😳 Sorry. Here it’s.

      Conversely, you didn’t answer my question. ” Are you referring to the style or the content?”

      Liked by 1 person

      • I did before this reply. This was an after thought.
        The content! Dragons. I like dragons and the mystical’ness’ of them. I don’t think I read anything else you wrote that referred to them. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I missed it. I’m reading other things while hopping to check BN.

        Like

      • I just watched the video. They make death sound so beautiful. Shortly after my mother died I dreampt of her. She was dressed in white and there was this glow around her and she looked beautiful and peaceful. She was on the other side of this lake and she waved to me and I was on a raft with my sister and we started paddling to get to her. My mother put her hand up and said, no it’s not your time. She assured me everything is going to be alright. Then she was gone. That’s what this video made me think of, that dream I had 21 years ago.

        Liked by 1 person

      • A nice reassuring message. I am so glad I sent you the video. 🙂

        Like

  4. Wonderful sonnet, Ben! Ah, that I had the patience to write something so intricate with description, meter and rhyme – and metaphor. (I hope Thomas reads this one!) Will try to return soon and read again. (Still can’t print things out easily, or I would do so.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Betty. I have no doubt you would find the patience if the urge captured you. 🙂

      Yes, I had Thomas in mind when putting this together. He has a fondness for dragons. This is perhaps even a kind of dedication.

      I hope your situation re. net connection, downloading, printing etc improves soon.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. WordPress is so frustrating sometimes, Ben. This is the third effort to comment. WordPress used to be much more usable.
    I love this sonnet, of course. You knew I would. I’m sure of that. Sometimes life sings through the lines of poetry and strikes you and makes you vibrate like a clear bell.
    “So still she lies, as if some shell abandoned, blear-eyed from sleep…”
    At the beginning there is no clear idea of who the she is, but as the sonnet develops she comes into focus. It is when this focus strikes that the craft of the sonneteer sings out of the poem into the reality of aging and the fire that is still part of who we, and the poet, are in the parade of human existence.
    “Be not deceived, imagining vacuum where once was fire
    Thoughts and feelings spark yet, drift dreamily, aimless, ancient, deep…”
    Ah yes, ah yes.
    “…waken not the dragon’s ire
    No less than fearsome monster, prone to bouts of fey desire
    Exceeding duties as guardian…”
    This is the point in the poem when I decided the dragon is the individual spirit of the poet, “guardian” of the poet’s heart, a fearsome monster when fully awake perhaps, “prone to bouts of fey desire.” This is where the sonnet began vibrating like a clear bell somewhere deep inside my bones.
    …”this dragon now feeds on sheep

    Protection for that heart of mine once long ago rudely spoiled
    That dragon, turned to basilisk…”
    Age does change our spirit, perhaps makes us less dangerous and less fey with desire, but
    “Too far too many empty nights left red-eyed the dragonfly
    Wound itself tighter and tighter till inextricably coiled

    A dusty heirloom, tucked away, out of sight, a feathered wing
    This fragile heart, free from defence, defiant, still dares to sing.”
    And so life, fragile in heart, free from defence, defiant, even into old age “dares to sing.”
    This is quite an accomplishment Ben Naga. You should write more sonnets. I should not get on long work jags that take up 12-14 hours a day 7 days a week so that I could read more regularly. Reading you is a tonic to the spirit of the individual inside me.
    I’ll answer your email later. You have talked me into, through your lines, going into the almost filled yellow legal tablet and writing.
    Thanks so much for cuing me into this sonnet. You have made my day.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Which makes mine in turn. Thank you so much for your generous words, and also for the time and effort you put into analysing the sonnet.. To read “This is where the sonnet began vibrating like a clear bell somewhere deep inside my bones.” makes still daring to sing truly worth while. And if it gets you to singing too then I have done my job. Strangely enough, talking of bells, “The Bells” takes first place alongside “Dragon Heart” as my favourite new pieces of writing this year. It seems it is another that passed you by, but that you will find worth reading.

    https://bennaga.wordpress.com/2014/08/10/the-bells/

    Like

Leave a Reply

