Anarchy In The U.K.

Back in 1985 I was living in Stirling, Scotland. Next nearby the castle is a pub with an outside courtyard. A bunch of us were having a drink there one evening. Next nearby the courtyard is the main drag up to the castle which has a low wall, meaning you can lean over and see into the pub’s courtyard. It a certain point we become aware that a couple of punk kids are up there eavesdropping, but we play dumb. One of them decides to make his presence known. “Anarchy!”, he says, in a loud voice. Enough to cut off our own conversation. After a few moments of silence I say, loudly enough for them to hear, “If you’re not part of the solution then you’re part of the problem”. Silence for a few moments. Then we hear them whispering to one another up there. Then he calls down, “Are youse social workers?” Which of course, as you can imagine, cracks us up completely, especially as we aren’t.

After that they came down and one asked if we would go into the pub and get him some crisps (What Americans refer to as potato chips, I believe. Chips being in English something else entirely. But then they call *those* fries, with or without the prefix “French”.) because he was too young to get served. “Yes. I’ll do that.” I said. He gave me the money and I went and bought his crisps. Anarchy? Finding a way around a purblind law anyway.

About Ben Naga

Pilgrim on the lam. Please feel free to explore the links to learn more. I trust you will find some things there will have been worth the effort. See you there.

Posted on January 14, 2014, in Not A Poem At All and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Ha! In 1979 I was asked by a kid 17 years old to buy him a 6 pack. Legal drinking age then was 18, I was 19. Of course I went and brought him the beer. I past the beer over and the store clerk got me arrested. You were lucky me not so.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. anarchy and hypocrisy, too… btw, I lived in the US for 5 years… 😉
    * * *
    I love Scotland… there’s a joke about the Scots, the French and the Irish: do you know why they have gotten along for centuries?… – because the all have the same common enemy – the Brits! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha, that is wonderful story! I would have gotten him some crisps as well. Poor lad.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is good when the barriers between generations can be breached, Yet another way in which out of fear we set ourselves against one another. Race, gender, nationality, sexuality … and on and on. 😦

      Like

  4. May the pub of kindness always pour over you, and may lads who know the word anarchist but not the meaning always want crisps and words rather than bombs and bombast.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

