John


…..
…..
JOHN
……………………………………………………………………………………………For J. L.
John liked to tell the truth
and would hurt himself and others to do so.
He was a very direct kind of man.
He could certainly make people angry.

One time he made a lot of people angry
by telling the truth
about the fact that he and his friends
were more important to a lot of people
than another man who lived a long time ago
and got crucified
for telling the truth.

And John got crucified as well.

(In the press at least …
It was a few years before they actually killed him.)

Rest in peace now, John,
and thank you
for not being afraid
to tell the truth.

About Ben Naga

The Spirit that graces me with its passing has no name and stems not from thoughts and words, though it gathers them up as it flows, but from feeling.

Posted on January 13, 2012, in Poetry, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Thank you for writing this Ben.

    Like

  2. An iconic figure. I must wonder at the slight irony of the fact that in crucifying him for the statement, they actually pressed his point even harder

    Like

  3. I too admired his authenticity. He music was poetry.

    Like

    • “Words are flowing out like
      Endless rain into a paper cup
      They slither wildly as they slip away across the universe

      Pools of sorrow, waves of joy
      Are drifting through my opened mind
      Possessing and caressing me

      Images of broken light, which
      Dance before me like a million eyes
      They call me on and on across the universe

      Thoughts meander like a
      Restless wind inside a letter box
      They tumble blindly as they make their way across the universe

      Sounds of laughter, shades of life
      Are ringing through my opened ears
      Inciting and inviting me

      Limitless undying love which
      Shines around me like a million suns
      It calls me on and on across the universe”

      Like

  4. Gina's Professions for PEACE

    This is amazing Ben. Thank you so much for sharing!!

    Like

Leave a comment